Corporate Games People Play: Manage Project Politics (Power/interest) Quadrant

One of the Tools which is very much used for Stakeholder Analysis during Project Management initiation phase.
Power/Interest Quadrant:
PowerInterestQuadrant

In  a project PM is one with Power and Well Interest on what/how/when/who/where things to implemented.
It’s perfected By 5 Why Question Philosophy? Ask Why five times..
Zachman gave what/how/when/who/where list which can be used to understand implement problem in any domain.

While doing a work of Program Manager Where multiple clients were implement different software.
We had to Start Data migration and Analytcs Stream of work Started. It was Downstream System.
There was a team doing requirement Gathering along with me. The Project Charter Which was made for our stream of work had incomplete RACI matrix (R) Responsibility, (A) Assignment, (C)Consent, (I) Informed).
Only just department names and Phone numbers.
I was really surprised at client where 10 different Teams are working how it is suffice?
Tomorrow a team needs to decide a from (Existing System A) manager which is modified in New System A.
(To be)For New System A (Component Treasury) How Will person know Who are Stakholders which needs to be (R) Responsible, (A) Assiged, (C)Consented, (I) Informed.
Which you can Find out from Power/Interest Quadrant So I prepared it..
But there were multiple signoff Activities So i improved on RACI to include RACI+S. (Sign Off).

I was assigned as Sr Project Manager in The Role. 5-7 people were positioned around me whose task was to say no to every yes I make. Or get Everything from me and then start negating me.
All throughout my life I never restricted myself of sharing something because normally people do not tel everything like they say ” Cat taught lion everything but did not taught how to climb trees” hence was able to outcast lion in climbing trees.

But In my case since I am learning So diverse Skills right from childhood learning everything which I know its almost doing 5 Phds…
So I was sure they will not be able to do it.. Everytime they say No and make noises..If i utter 1 sentence all are silent why?
Psychologically: Because it was very important for them…
Sure I will never say useless stuff. Why? I have so many things to do in life that I cannot afford time.
See ( 9 hours office work + 2 hours commuting + 1 hours home activity (Eating/bathing/etc)+6 hours sleep= 18 hrs.
Left with 6 hours.. 1 hour home+friends,
out of 5 hours: 2.5 hours to blog and 2.5 hours to courses.. Every month I have Target of 6 courses.. almost 1.5 course per week.
always I try to increase what I write, Review for journal, Create video content, do more courses to find missing links..

Always connecting the dots…

Last 20 yrs in IT. Almost earlier 5-6 hrs used to go in learning.. 0.5 day of learning each day beside work.
20 yrs X 0.5 day X 300 days year..There was off for work..but learning continued on week ends or holidays as well.
Post Masters 3000 days of learning accumulated. How can people pick up say 1 month had only 30 days..

year has 300 days max.. IT will take 10 years break to do that..

BACKGROUND
So I was sure I try to share maximum. Now out of all I learned only 10% become relevant in that case but that too is 300 days atleast.
How Can people do it in say six months its impossible. you have to do something unnatural to do it otherwise its not possible.
That’s reason I become so much excited to tell because I have so much to tell on Topics..
And flow is important if i get obstructed I may forget something which I tell from Management 2 degrees, 600 cases studied, Law 1 degree, economics (MBA/MA), IT (5 degrees each had totally different subjects), finance(subject in 4 degree program )100+ MOOCs, then 40 Certification (Each certification 500 question=500 page book means 20,000 pages or 40 books).
Then Diversity I have seen languages English, french,  Pahadi, Punjabi, gujarati, telgu, kanad,tamil, bengla, marathi.
37 cities, almost now 2 continents. By courses 6 continents. 10+ sports played, 3 martial art forms, adventure sports..

I can say only missing aspect I see is medicine of which coincidently I have diploma in naturopathy.

see latest i added up in just last 7 days..Certification on Smart City.Smart City Certificate

 

So I had good amount of exposure and knowledge from 400+ courses all different to implement.
Everytime I am adding up. Next year it would be atleast around 450 courses …

1 course a day it will still take more than year.. all of which are 3-6 months courses.

When you tell to people there faults they become unhappy but u should find polite way out.
May be like: Just drop a mail without telling what it about for knowledge sharing that about techniques..

But what to do When people say: Do not send un-necessary mails..

Unfortunate Part:

Sometimes you have Things like I got dengu while on project hospitalized for 4 days. Doctor told its not over but office politics makes you report to work while on dengu. (constant vomiting Doc certs).

But despite fact I was very happy and reporting to work daily.. They other Thing Came they did not give computer to you to work on..
Its like cutting tree for a wood cutter without axe. (you can n’t do anything..)
To add to misery I was told There is team ask them with respect again and again after having approved ticket…
Go there physically and request them…
Add to that: place is 30 kms away it takes 2 hours in busy traffic to reach there..by train..
Computer distribution centre starts work at 9.30 but actually present only by 10.00 u reach there as well same time it will take 30 minutes from queue they have..
Then answer comes right now there is no system.. you cannot bring you own personal laptop there because it has to encrypted.

Solution: Writing Mobile. My whole work was on Mobile…

Only thing when I was struck analysis of data..because u cannot fit database into mobile… That is when you had to shuttle between 2 offices 2 hours away..
If computer distribution centre takes 30 minutes in queue and 30 mins in allotment..it then 2 hours drive..
Its MATHS Question now: What time would you reach at client?
It’s not hard for 5th grade its : 9 am + 1+2=12 pm only right…
But it’s not very easy to convince Post graduates because there mind is already filled with bais.

Only 1 week wasted between 2 office you got laptop..its information age.. at speed of light information can come but not laptop.. ( I actually do not agree with sentiments though here) will you.. its upto you…

Work had 4 bozoes looking at you nay sayers.. I thought its good excercise because its 6th Thinking hat of Robert De bono the devil’s advocate.. But I see 4 thinking hat missing.. No problem..
Every Problem is opportunity until you recognize it…
So I took it.. Let them say what ever they want to say at end tell them what you mean by that… So they understand what they were doing blabbering in meeting with customers… Many customers actually agree…

In India that decision sometimes goes to from where you are comming (Please read this care fully )
Normally people say: I can understand from where you are comming.. (meaning what subject areas u reffered to mean that)
But here it means Which region of india you are comming…
So he can make judgement based on similarity of region == similarity of thoughts…
Do you agree with that? its hard for me… bozoos and intelligent people are equally distributed across regions..
better one: Take his idea then say he did not said that or not let him speak…

But you know: “Cavaet Emptor” as they call in law.. and insurance it means: “Buyer beware” about what you are buying.

Amazing Working as Architect or individual contributor Role specially when you are targeted from people higher in hierarchy
See Normally Architect is Techncally solid but holds least power since no one reports to him.
which leaves you easy target for abuse. You cannot even push your solutions if Project managers groups people around you.

For services Companies at most place due to competitive bidding time for creative work is less. Its true some people have more time some have less or 15% workforce is on bench all the time.
Here is very interesting video for people to look at :

So There is same Task all people same input. I was promissed on mail Sr Project Manager Job at wipro Infotech before joining but inside company they have not given even single people reporting to me.
When its first few months they said we will tell u later..amazing…
Even Legally valid proof on mail of Sr Project manager Position does not deter ..As inside company I was tagged Consultant.
First project SAS Admin Work.
Second project almost 60 kms away at new city, new office small office with almost no comutation facility and work was on Foxpro To SQL server..
Hearing that I request three time I am big data, Analytics, Cloud guy Why the hell I will work in remote location for a client which has only city presence..
Client had Only 1 Office it is not even enterprise wide implementation.. commute to place 60 kms away on crowed train with almost 600 people in one compartment..
Given No choice…
Rude Abusive Influence Manager:
When I asked that I was promised project manager role my manager Told me. Why you are not fulfilling the promise of job description ?
Answer I got its like that you cann’t do anything take whatever given to you. If you find anything bad you can go and complain no one will listen. I was told even international certification not usefull…

Rationalistic narrow Thinking:
I had gr8 realtion with people around client was specially pickedup as such client had no office outside maharashtra.
I have lot of good marathi friends but at client all people like grew up together in same department.

Wipro one manger Shishir misbeaved One day: saying
“I will tell gaurds to throw you out of office”. I asked why he making such noise in open office..
Answer : I got complain anywhere there would not be anyone listen to you.

Colluded Private gaurd:
Next day when I went out in evening  for tea to ease of new joinee from andhra
at client office after Project Manager “Paltekar” instructed private security guard not to enter inside client office.
I was amazed both of us were stopped and told : Its 1600 hours office closed go home.
We replied our goods are inside and we went just for tea whole team is working inside.
Reply came not allowed..

Both of us were amazed at why such Games they are playing.. Then we asked what is problem see id given to us by you let us in but still gaurd was admant as if somebody instructed him personally to stop us from work physically.

We showed cards, asked private gaurd to have conference call with people inside but they would not listen.
After 1 hour he allowed inside. reaching inside I told incident to project Manager.
But Manager had already instructed security staff instead of taking my side and protecting me on unexpected behaviour Paltekar actually sided with client.
Next day I was asked to head security another Marathi Guy..Mr kulkarni..
Form My history I could recognize guy Abhishek Kulkarni in Ireland used gorup of student at Ireland to abuse me on social media during time of Congress government here.. I told him that if I complain then action can be taken against you..

Here This different guy Mr Kulkarni started talk with threatening me That you know our power we can frisk you.
Even Give bad comment and End your career But I asked hime incident happen in front camera of local department why he is not revising its video to see whose problem it is. He started loudly threatening we are told to just passively listen t him..
Next day there was another security officer I had good relation he was from haryana.
But I had flavour abuse of power for no region by one officer from maharastra while good treatment with from haryana next day.
Which highly speaks about that project manager hailing from same region colluded with security guy to create this incident..
This was my first brush with how low people can go and creatively add abusive power to abuse you.

I complained behaviour to third party ombudsmen by wipro policy but instead they made behaviour case against me.
Even Ombudsmen started working with project Manager..
There were three clear points>
#1 promissed Sr Project Manager not delivered no reporting.
#2 verbal abuse by Mr Shishir
#3 There were tow guys not even project manager but facilated to become one..while I had 5 yrs credentials all ignored..
Is this Character of people from Mumbai? But not everyone is smae.
#4 Abusive behaviour of private local security gaurd
#5 project change request was rejected giving me reason that everything will be routed through project manager…

Amazing we have 30 million cases pending in court its very costly process for small employee to fight with people assigned as project manager put cases it will keep running for years and drain money..
AMAZINGLY WE CALL DEMOCRACY…but look at this abuse… To coverup they started even telling we can involve big guys if you complain..So no help… where is democracy for poor people like me 300 million private workforce mostly its like that situation..

Look for government employee there are unions, government to support who support private employee it entirely at mercy of his boss which incident can be abusive and bullying.. Even blue collar worker can n’t even fight verbally or physically because he will not get employment..
Last 17 yrs working in private sector I realized there is no one to help private employee there should be Godfather for you in industry ..Its like are we really working for Mafia where we need godfathers to stand equitable right to work and fair treatment fundamental right.
Despite Search for Godfather may continue.. I am Still took steps to train employees at wipro and filling patents.

Despite This I continued won patent competition and given free training to Wipro employees on CISA for first time.

Leave a Reply

