My Story part-2: Harassment Of being Hindu Software Engineer

Part 1: https://sandyclassic.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/my-story-year-2004-demandsupply-law-in-work/

So As I was in New set-up working on Peoplesoft Support projects for Human Resource Management System HRMS dealing with (global payroll customisation, benefits to employee, and there reporting using Brio’s SQR (which later got acquired with oracle now called Oracle Production reporting).
Living in house tenant to house owned by muslim. We had very cordial relationship As his son usually come and spend time in our house and discuss career options available to him after his graduation and to find schools for him for acting etc…
At Work:
Back At work I was new to technology with Organisation putting me back to work under a senior staff member. I was picking technology from outside as well especially focus on what I am not learning form outside. Having already worked as java,oracle and open source developer there was no issue with me to pick new tech. But This was ERP.
Complexity Of being ERP: Exposed first time.
ERP by its nature is very vast to give you a hint. There are more than 30,000 tables populating data in background for may be more than 20,000 + forms and 30,000+ reports of different kind all pre-delivered ready to customize.There are many ways customization can be achieved on these like using language called people code, report SQRW, app Engine, application integrator, crystal reports, Application designer tools etc..
Domain Depth:
More important thing in case of ERP is it goes really deep into domain like suppose payroll.
Now there is american payroll with 401K plans , benefits etc, But its not there in German payroll or Canadian payroll. American payroll will implement each and every related government laws like what % of salary goes to taxes , heath care related regulations for Benefits module of ERP. Usually a person who gets Expertise in 1 payroll stays with that payroll throughout career or may be Add one more payroll max.
So like this if I count how many career lines available in peoplesoft HRMS may be more than 20+ , in Financials 20+ in other modules like supply chain management etc 30+.
in total around 80+ different techno-functional career available within Single product people soft ERP.you can check yourself just google Oracle Peoplesoft.
Now We had cab scheduled working in shifts. This company was largest Peoplesoft support company handling 18% of world wide cases related to Peoplesoft reported Incidents, customisation and Enhancements ICE there kinds of request have to be understood at human resource domain level than Technology level. If there is customisation required then peoplesoft would not support request and implementation vendor like Accenture, Capgemini etc. has to found for customisation. We would take mostly support cases on technology and domain.
There were 3 divisions: Peoplesoft HR, finance, SCM each of which had 4 or more sub-divisions.
So new Technology area of ERP learning curve takes min 4-5 months atleast to understand what is being done and then mentored by somebody would make it easy and fast you can easily Understand now why?
being vast modules technology, law, HR management, labour laws, taxation etc coinciding in each case. Peoplesoft has its own application server it can use any of major databases in back ground, it had its own scheduler and integration tools.
So any database like oracle, sql server, mysql, informix etc.. can come up in case assigned.
As well any of App server like Webshere, weblogic, jboss, Tuxedo etc.. can also come up.
Then from 30,000+ already built in tables figure out which one will be used in case.
Same for 20,000+ forms and reports. So learning curve was good enough and I had no senior from my college in company unlike many others who had this luxury so I needed to toil hard and pick as much as possible from outside. people were not ready to spend money on outside education they wanted more to mentored by company itself.But I had curious case doing all way as opportunity arrives outside/inside. My low cost Educational background had not provided luxury of vast alumni Network.
My Educational Background:
3 Yrs Masters degree in Computer Application MCA.

One of the problems I had many time went to University and Asked them to do it for sake of poor students studying in different part of India 500+ centres.
But Any how the Exams were good quality and assignments were even better we had good scientist working in home town to take tuitions from so we never had problem.
We would get problem Like this in our masters in year 2000-03 (3 yrs degree)
https://sandyclassic.wordpress.com/2013/10/24/generalize-problem-solving-through-design-pattern/
Out of 1200 student registered in centre End of 3 yr only 60 passed out. 5% passout, 95% did not made it in cut. So people were very confident that now they can get what ever they want having in 5% result set. But India reputation of college in more important than the rigorous syllabus and exam system. Even student were so much in demand in teaching institutes that they never look back into software engineering career as well.
I having Read as many 600+ business magazine by then as well complemented parallel with 2 more degree in IT and mathematics, operation research. Even final year I thought why not read economics as there is slow down so I did enrolled in MA Economics parallel with my other degrees and passed 1 year. As i got job I left focused on software job.
Back to my Experience:
So While working I came to know this fact Almuni is more important then Even your hard work because anything you do Exceed all Expectation yet evaluation is in Hand of someone Who is in Alumni of someone.  Boss can do anything he like with your performance report as trivial as not proper English skill When could not find ans fault in technology and domain. Any How I was doing well technologically never bothered about all those focused more on technological issues and break through, reading business cases.
for about 6-8 months I worked under a superior who later wants to put his own community person in my position my first Experience of casteism in Work (which I never thought before follower of samajwadi party ). So I was put under another manager for part time. Then next I came to know to make way for people he started planning to make my way out. What was strategy? put some people who his related party controls and push some muslim managers against me. I had no clue being very religious and open to any religion as one kind approach. So he started using him to push me further I had sleepless day and night. What I used to think that if I continue improving then this hard training would make my job easy on this technology in next job. One day 3 days contentiously 72 hours i was in office only. As my technology and domain was shifting constantly and I wanted to somehow complete 1 year then move to next company.
Planning Shift To another Company
Now my manager a yadav has easy strategy having put a muslim manager has easy task if i say anything it can be used as hindu-muslim issue. That would make my career in permanent cold storage. For manager He can do anything and having spent 6-7 yrs in technology and network created easy to go anywhere. But I rather did not minced anything even for 72 hours continously in office.
Institutional Failure on Integration of community in India
That is first time I say people grouping with each other based on Caste , community and languages. Having spent most of my childhood wandering all over india , I used to feel very sad at the failures of national integration visible even in private company store. Namely Jains group with jain, muslim with muslim , yadav with yadav , punjabi with punjabi, south indian with south, pahari with pahari in my case i wish to remain idealistic not in any group. But it was mistake when I look back it important to be part of group otherwise u may be left alone being hindi speaking punjabi from uttranchal who lived all over india.
So Company was doing good adding numbers took new office .
Second Successful prediction
Suggestion: One day I met director told him its risky to put all your egg in one basket by focusing on just 1 technology. What will happen if an shift happens ?
He told me be positive nothing we are doing Good.
This was during office party so I did not wanted to dwell longer. I had already studied oracle was pursuing takeover of peoplesoft for last 4 yrs many attempts.
Which turned out true later: Oracle acquired peoplesoft and cancelled support contract with company. Company lost all business in short had to reduce manpower from 240 to around 30-40 people.
Before This Manager made plan for my exit god made plans for each one’s exit.
Snooping at home:
The two boys back at home were given assurance by manager of job in return snoop on me. So when I lost job alone with 60 others as result of company losing business. I was very upset as the people i recommend were still there. So I was looking for answers and i was told it was corporate trick. I started looking for new job. As well to stabilize when one boy back home told me there is one muslim preacher you should meet he can answer your queries. He told that it helped him having and was passing this information at behest of people snooping info from company. So I went to preacher he told me to go to a sufi mazar and a majid and prey there for few minuted each week donate money and give food to poor on every Tuesday.
I having brought god as one concept looking for peace went there prayed there one man guided me. I was serious but these guys were watching from behind and making fun of me.
Which became clear later to me 3 months later and 12 visits. That See Where We have brought him.
Then I wanted to just move away from that place. To them they thought they its like joke to me i had no problem see for me god was one in any form and place. I often used to stop in front of temple, mosque or gurdwara or church and remember god.
When I look at this incident today it looks like they needed to expand horizon. India i later realized rightly maintained tolerance for many religion due to this openness. But Any how they kept laughing on the incident for many years.
During office The harrasment Which I suffered verbal and work related made one perosn say one day “He should file a defamation case but I had more tolerance to sustain being from may be poor background made me hard just making living somehow”.
Now I shifted to new place for my training without telling these person back home snooping to those people. For my next job.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Autobiography of Software Engineer | sandyclassic

Leave a Reply

